SCMPD recognizes Sgt. Gene Lawhorn for 35 years of service with the department.

SAVANNAH, GA (December 14, 2016) –The Savannah-Chatham Metropolitan Police Department honored dozens of officers and staff members at its latest Years of Service ceremony on Wednesday, Dec. 14.

The 75 men and women represented nearly every facet of the police department including patrol officers, investigators, communications officers, special operations personnel, administrative assistants and much more. The ceremony took place at 2:00 p.m. at the SCMPD’s Professional Development Center at 3401 Edwin Street.

Chief of Police Joseph H. Lumpkin, Sr. praised the officers and employees for their dedication to the citizens of this community. “You are the guardians of democracy. You are the ones who make a difference every day in this city and county.” Lumpkin added, “Many of the employees being honored today have served this community for decades and are now helping us lead the way in the 21st century.”

Two employees celebrated their 35th anniversaries with the SCMPD. Four have reached their 30 year milestone. Six will celebrate 25 years of service. Six will celebrate 20 years of service. Seven have reached their 15 year milestone. Twenty-one will celebrate their 10th anniversary. Twenty-nine employees will be recognized for five years of service.

The following employees were honored:

Thirty-Five Years

Sgt. Gene Lawhorn

Ms. Nickie Stevens


Thirty Years

Maj. Richard Zapal

Capt. Terry Shoop

Lt. Kenneth Patton

Cpl. Grady “Stan” Freeman


Twenty-five Years

Sgt. Andrea Williams

Star Cpl. Ricky Davis

Star Cpl. Joseph Bjnarowicz

Cpl. Darlene Jones

Cpl. Mark McCartha

Ms. Tammy Coley


Twenty Years

Lt. Clarence Few

Sgt. Joseph Toth

Sgt. Tarik Wilson

Ms. Jina Ansel

Ms. Elizabeth Holmes

Star Cpl. Randy Garman







Fifteen Years

Sgt. Aaron Washington

Sgt. Raymond Retzer

Sgt. Hiram Rivera

Cpl.  John Gibbs

Cpl. Michael Zaragoza

Cpl. Mark Willis

Ms. Tamika Verdree


Ten Years

Sgt. Samuel Hunt

Sgt. Samantha Stephens

Cpl. Michael Dantzler

Cpl. Trevor Kruwel

Cpl. Jeremy McKnight

Cpl. Romel Petit-Frere

Cpl. Chris Petrou

Cpl. Barry Ripley

Cpl. Gregory Drongowski

Cpl. William Newman

Cpl. Michael Peplow

Cpl. Adina Ripley

Cpl. Schiavonne Saunders

Ms. Tiffany Camp

Ms. Jada Flowers

Ms. Beverly Gilbert

Ms. Priscilla Marshall

Ms. Vernell Mitchell

Ms. Elaine Nelson

Ms. Ashley Thomas







Five Years

Sgt. Bryony Harris

Cpl. Christopher Ameduri

Cpl. Benjamin Ferrero

Cpl. Cameron Nichols

Cpl. Hillary Nielsen

Cpl. Rex Pixley

APO Perneacia Banks

APO Abby Brown

APO Andre Cureton

APO David Lane

APO Esvin Menendez

APO Nassiff Nelson

APO Megan Nelson

Ms. Jennifer Betrand

Ms. Shanae Cross

Ms. Belinda Enfinger

Ms. Rasheita Gardner

Ms. Marilyn Grant

Ms. Kidada Hamilton

Ms. Kristin Hardy

Ms. Yolanda Howard

Ms. Chiquita Jones

Ms. Monique Knight-Wilson

Ms. Danielle Lawson

Ms. Johnna Lawson

Mr. Maurice Lee, Sr.

Ms. Sade Nesbit

Ms. Talibah Onyebuchi

Ms. Tamara Salley