SAVANNAH, GA (May 27, 2016): Thirty-six officers and staff members with the Savannah-Chatham Metropolitan Police Department graduated today from the Leadership in Police Organizations Course

This is the third group to graduate from the internationally-renowned training developed by the International Association of Chiefs of Police.

The 120-hour class was held at the SCMPD Professional Development Center over the course of the past three months. The graduates consist of lieutenants, sergeants, star corporals, corporals, advanced police officers, and civilian leaders from throughout the department. The course was taught by IACP Certified National Instructor Larry Mathieson and IACP-trained SCMPD officers and staff.

IMG_9475This morning Assistant Chief Julie Tolbert presented the individuals with their certificates. Joining her were members of Savannah City Council: Alderwoman Carol Bell, Alderman Bill Durrence, and Alderman Julian Miller.

“I am very proud of these officers,” Asst. Chief Tolbert said, “Even though they were already leaders before beginning this course, their willingness to expand their knowledge and skills has made them stronger leaders today. This type of continuous learning has an immediate positive impact within our agency and to the community we serve.”

The graduates are: Lt. Bill Cunningham, Lt. Jeff Olson, Lt. Kenneth Patton, Lt. Deborah Robinson, Sgt. Octavio M. Arango, Sgt. Brad Beddow, Sgt. Keith L. Dennis, Sgt. Steve Eaton, Sgt. Timmy Gonzales, Sgt. Harry L. Henderson, Sgt. David R. James, Sgt. Cameron Kovach, Sgt. Michael McPhaul, Sgt. Max Nowinsky, Sgt. Jeffery B. Oliver, Sgt. William J. Sharpley, Sgt. Mitch Shores, Sgt. Facquita Small-Lloyd, Sgt. Tarik Wilson, Sgt. Jeron L. Young, Cpl. Andrew Arnsdorff, Cpl. Mason Hamm, Cpl. Alan B. Sammons, Cpl. Eric Smith, Cpl. John Eric Lee Smith, Cpl. Roshi D. Smith, Cpl. Tarra Smith, Cpl. Charles Wilson,Jr., APO Sherrell Brown, APO Zachary Burdette, APO Glenn Castro, APO Phillip Collard, APO Hillary Nielsen, Ofc. Antwan Diggs, Ofc. Steve Reagin, and Kim McBurney.