SAVANNAH, GA (December 4, 2014): A recent increase in shootings, aggravated assaults and “shots fired” calls has prompted an increase in requests from citizens and neighborhood watches to utilize Metro Police Crime Prevention Officers.

In recent months, at least four new Neighborhood Watches launched. Citizens and neighborhood watches jurisdiction-wide are increasingly asking Metro’s Crime Prevention Officers for presentations on self-defense, crime reporting and arranging extra patrols when residents leave town.

“We welcome the requests,” said Maj. James Barnwell, Commander of the North Patrols for the Savannah-Chatham Metropolitan Police Department. “Criminal activity traditionally raises concern in our community. Measures taken, from setting up more neighborhood watches, to self-defense classes and property inspections, help neighbors join the efforts to protect themselves. This is how relationships are built between residents and police. And this is why we have Crime Prevention Officers.”

CPOs are an educational and informational resource for residents of their assigned precincts to learn about SCMPD programs, increase personal safety, and enhance residential, business and vehicle security. One method of fulfilling this function is support of local neighborhood watches. CPOs can help neighbors interested in establishing watches move through the organizational and operational process.

CPOs also are available to conduct free security inspections of homes and businesses to evaluate and identify exterior vulnerabilities thieves may find appealing. Inspections conclude with security improvement tips.

Citizens interested in contacting their precinct’s CPOs can utilize the list below.

 

Westside Precinct:

Ofc. Bryan Harrell

(912) 652-6573

bharrell@savannahga.gov

 

Downtown Precinct:

Ofc. Samantha Stephens

(912) 525-3100 ext. 2713

sstephens01@savannahga.gov

 

Central Precinct:

APO Barry Lewis

(912) 525-3114

blewis01@savannahga.gov

 

APO Dana Knight:

(912) 525-3114

dknight@savannahga.gov

 

Southside Precinct :

Cpl. John Simmons

(912) 351-3497

jsimmons@savannahga.gov

 

Islands Precinct:

Ofc. Ryan Thomas

(912) 525-3100, ext. 3008

rthomas@savannahga.gov